RunRace USA › Kentucky › Derby Festival Marathon
The complete, course-first guide
Derby Festival Marathon
Saturday, April 24, 2027 · 7:00 AM (marathon and miniMarathon start together)
Main Street near Louisville Slugger Field, downtown Louisville; finish at Preston and Witherspoon streets near the Waterfront
The race in 60 seconds
The route is a loop, keeping the start and finish in the same part of the city. The modeled line carries about 606 feet of total climb and ranges from roughly 431 to 587 feet above sea level. Look for KFC Yum! Center, PNC Tower (National City Tower), Humana Building, Muhammad Ali Center in the flyover, with recognizable forms modeled from architectural records.
Fly the course
The whole course, built from the best available published route trace and an extruded model of Louisville. Scrub it, change the camera, or let it play. Nothing here is a video: it is drawing the city live.
Route statusCurrent community course trace cross-checked against the published route. best-fidelity trace of the current course; endpoints match the official 2027 map
The route line uses the best published course trace available. Public-domain USGS and USDA aerial photography plus USGS 3DEP elevation are baked into RunRace USA, so the flyover makes no paid map API or third-party runtime requests. Buildings, roads, parks and water use OpenStreetMap, ODbL. This is photographic terrain with modeled architecture, not photogrammetry. Bridge approaches, elevations and facade details are approximations; the organizer's published route remains the reference.
The elevation profile
This Marathon profile covers 26.2 miles, ranges from roughly 431 to 587 feet, and contains about 606 feet of modeled climb.
- , mile 11.04 to 12.36: 120 feet up, 1.7% average.
- , mile 12.8 to 13.32: 48 feet up, 1.7% average.
The route at a glance
Gold is the selected modeled course; route provenance is stated beside the flyover.
Race-week weather, measured
At the start line, April 20-28 averaged a low of 49°F and a high of 68°F across 2016-2025. The same window reached 83°F at its warmest and 32°F at its coldest. Measurable rain appeared on about 37% of sampled days. Treat the range, not just the average, as the packing list.
Pace it by effort
The profile and grade strip come from the same route currently loaded in the flyover. Use even pace as a baseline, then protect effort on the highlighted climbs and exposed sections.
| Finish | Even pace | Halfway |
|---|---|---|
| 3:00 | 6:52 /mi | 1:30 |
| 3:30 | 8:01 /mi | 1:45 |
| 4:00 | 9:09 /mi | 2:00 |
| 4:30 | 10:18 /mi | 2:15 |
| 5:00 | 11:27 /mi | 2:30 |
| Published course limit, 6:00 | 13:44 /mi | 3:00 |
Build your race weekend
The course
Live 3D flyover, synchronized elevation, route map, mile-by-mile shape and local landmarks.
Where to stay
32 mapped places to stay, compared by the endpoint that matters.
Expo and logistics
Packet pickup, the published weekend schedule, transit, parking and current entry tiers.
Spectators
Route-aware viewing anchors and a plan that respects the actual course geography.
The weekend
A city guide built around the places modeled beside the course.
Official race site
The organizer's current dates, entry details and late course notices.
Common questions
Does it sell out, or is there a lottery? How does entry actually work?
No lottery appears anywhere on the race site: you register directly through RunSignUp. What catches people out is the hard close. The FAQ states there is no race-day registration and that registration closes at 5 PM the day before. Whether the race sells out first is not stated on the site.
Can I get a refund if I get hurt?
No. The FAQ is blunt: they do not offer refunds for any of their races. Your only outs are RegShield race insurance, bought at the moment of registration and not after, or a paid deferral or transfer. Deciding in March that you want your money back is too late.
Do bibs transfer or defer?
Both, for a fee, and only before a deadline. A bib transfer to another runner or to a different distance costs $20, done through your RunSignUp profile. Deferrals are one year only and cost $30 miniMarathon, $35 marathon, $75 relay. Note the site lists conflicting deadline years: transfer April 13, 2026, deferral April 12, 2027.
Are there corrals, and are they enforced?
Yes, the race uses a corral system, faster runners forward and slower to the rear. Front corrals require submitted qualifying proof: miniMarathon 1:52:00 women, 1:35:00 men; marathon 3:45 women, 2:28 men. Times can be updated closer to race day. Whether corrals are physically enforced at the line is not stated.
What is the time limit, and what happens if I fall behind?
Marathon is 6 hours, a 13:45 per mile pace. The mini is quoted two ways on the race's own site: a 4-hour limit on the FAQ, and 4 hours 20 minutes on the course page, both at 15:00 per mile. A trail car reopens roads behind you. Past it, course services stop and you finish on sidewalks under normal pedestrian rules.
Walkers cannot enter the full marathon
This is the rule most first-timers miss. The FAQ says in capitals that because of strict adherence to the marathon time limit, walkers will not be allowed to register for the marathon. Walkers are welcome in the miniMarathon only, and still must hold a 15:00 per mile pace to stay ahead of the trail car.
Can I carry a bag, or use a stroller?
No bags are allowed on the course at all. Gear check is at Louisville Slugger Field near the Main Street start. Also banned: roller and in-line skates, bicycles, baby and running strollers, and animals. Camelbaks and water bags are the one carry that is explicitly permitted.
What is the weather like, and what should I expect on course?
Late April in Louisville can go warm or wet; the race's weather page offers only generic advice (light wicking layers, no cotton, slow your pace in heat) and no temperature data, so plan for a range. Course-specific catch: the full marathon adds Southern Parkway and the hills of Iroquois Park after the split, and both races run through Churchill Downs itself.
Register for the 2027 Derby Festival Marathon →on RunSignUp
Course geometry provenance is stated beside the player; elevation profiles always use the same route loaded there. City geometry is OpenStreetMap, ODbL. Aerial imagery is from USGS and USDA; other images carry their own source credits. Weather figures use Open-Meteo reanalysis for April 20-28 across 2016-2025 at the start line. Schedule, prices and expo hours were checked in 2026-08-31 and are the fields most likely to move: confirm them on derbyfestivalmarathon.com before you book anything. Spot an error? Tell us and we'll fix it fast.